Bible Devotions

Toxic People

on September 24, 2007

 

Is there someone in your life that causes the hair on the back of your neck to bristle?  You know someone who always has to be right.  Someone who is “just telling it as it is”.  Sure, we all know someone like that.   The question is what do we do about them? 

 

Toxic people irritate, nit-pick us over the most trivia matters.  They are a hypocritical, legalistic, guilt-tripping, critical, condemning, judgmental lot.  These people could be our own family, friends, neighbors, or co-workers. 

 

How did they get that way?

Pastor Rick explained in this week’s sermon the top 3 reasons were envy, greed and bitterness.  The message was full of verses about how Jesus dealt with the toxic people of His time – the Pharisees.  It was practical and something we could all use not only to identify toxic people around us but also to self-assess our own thoughts, motives and behaviors. 

 

The sermon concludes with five biblical things you can do if you have toxic people in your life.  It also outlined how coming to Jesus is the only way we can avoid becoming toxic people our selves.  I can testify to Pastor Rick’s message, for I was a toxic person before I gave my life to Christ.  Everything he pointed out sounded like my old self, but oh how I thank God I’m no longer like that.  I’m certainly not perfect, but Christ has done some amazing things in me and He can for anyone else who’s willing to come to Him.  I highly recommend you get a copy of this message.  After you hear it, you just might want to buy a few extra to give to family and friends.  You never know, this message might be just what they need to hear to turn them around.

 

By the way, Pastor Rick will be teaching on Toxic People for the next two weeks, so you’ll have an opportunity to come hear for your self.  Join us at Saddleback Church.  For details on service times visit, http://www.saddlebackfamily.com/home/today.asp today.

 Lord may we recognize toxic traits in others and our self.  By Your power may we learn to live as Christ did, always pointing others to Your truth.  Help us to come to You with the areas in our self that need Your grace, so we may be able to extend grace to others.  In Jesus’ name Amen. 

 

 

© Elizabeth Marks, author of ThinkOnIt Devotions and has a heart for encouraging others with God’s Word.  For more articles, devotions and book reviews, visit http://www.ThinkOnItDevotions.com today.

One response to “Toxic People

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Thank you for this devotional. I have been feeling rubbed raw by my own realization of how toxic I am. Too many bad, little trip-me-ups in the past decade have left me bitter and tired of. It was a great eye opener. I knew about my bitterness. A friend told me I was Naomi in the book of Ruth. I knew I was getting more and more irritable, but seeing all of the characteristics of toxicity that I possess was devastating. I glad that God heals when life hurts.

    Take care and God bless you!
    Jacquelynn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

