Bible Devotions

What does being Thankful really mean?

on February 8, 2011

Being thankful, for me, is an automatic response to knowing I’m forgiven when I know I don’t deserve it.  Recognizing God’s grace causes me to have a thankful attitude.  Look at the next verse.  See what the Bible says about spreading grace causes thanksgiving to abound.

2 Corinthians 4:15 NKJV “For all things are for your sakes, that grace, having spread through the many, may cause thanksgiving to abound to the glory of God.”  It’s the grace of God that causes thanksgiving to flow.  For if we truly understand God’s sacrifice for us we would never cease to praise Him.  The next verse gives us a clue as to how far God would go to extend His grace to us.

Romans 5:8 NKJV “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”  Can you imagine dying for someone who doesn’t even recognize your sacrifice for them?  I know I couldn’t!  But that’s what God did for us!  He came down to earth 2000+ years ago, lived as a sinless man, and died to pay the penalty for all who would ever sin!  We weren’t even born yet, and He chose to die for us, in advance, for the sins He knew we would commit.  As we grew up, we were enemies of God, doing our own thing, rejecting God by living out of our own self-sufficiency.  But God waited patiently for us to come to a saving knowledge of His grace.

Oh what joy when that day comes!  However, it’s not that one particular day that’s so great.  It takes time to develop a robust appreciation for all He has done.  Why not start today?  Pray.  Tell God how thankful you are for His grace given to you.  Tell Him you accept His sacrifice for you and want Him to help you develop a rich and robust appreciation for all He’s done for you.  Then watch how your thankfulness grows.

One way to acknowledge the good that God’s done in your life is to make a list.  Start a gratitude journal by listing out the things you have to be thankful for.  Reviewing the list periodically can help improve your attitude too.  A gratitude list might look something like this:

1) I’m thankful God chose to save me.

2) I’m thankful God changed my heart.

3) I’m thankful God restored my marriage.

4) I’m thankful God gave me a godly husband, who loves me.

5) I’m thankful God gave me my two boys.

6) I’m thankful God brought godly friends into my life.

Of course, once you start a list like that, it may be difficult to stop writing.  Something happens when we focus on all that we’ve been given.  Realizing that everything comes from God helps us continue to give thanks to the One who deserves it!

So what do you have to be thankful for today?  Take time this Thanksgiving to share with others exactly what you’re thankful for and praise God, for He is good!  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public CharityInterested in knowing more about ThinkOnIt Ministries? Sign up for our monthly newsletter at http://thinkonit.org

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

