Bible Devotions

Here I am Lord, Use Me

on July 28, 2011

Not long after giving my life to Christ, sitting with my small group discussing mission trips, I vividly remember a feeling of sheer terror.  I didn’t want God to send to me off to Africa or some third world country.  At church we’d often here a song with lyrics “Here I am Lord, use me”.  I had difficulties singing that song.  After all, I was tired of being used by the world, why would I want the Lord to use me too?

But God is good and not because He didn’t send me to Africa!  God is good because He’s God.  It is a holy privilege to serve the true and living God.  Sure, I didn’t think so when I first believed. However, God has a habit of changing the way you think.  Look at Romans 12:2And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”  The Bible instructs us to not conform to the world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.  I just love that part of the verse.  When your mind has been renewed you will have the proper godly perspective to understand the will of God. 

Day by day, little by little, God’s Word changes how we think.  It realigns our thoughts to His thoughts.  We find ourselves starting to care about He cares about.  We become thankful for all He has done for us.  We are humble and grateful to help where ever is needed.  Today, more than 10 years later, I can honestly say I’d love to go a mission trip and take my sons with me.  Who knows?  It may happen.  In fact, I’ve been communicating with Good Hope Church in Kenya, who ask me to come.  The opportunity of going isn’t terrifying either!  It would be an honor and a blessing to go.  I’m just another example of Romans 12:2 – my mind has been renewed!

What about you?  Do you want to be used by the Lord?  If not, why? 

Lord thank you for your Word that straightens us out and shows us the pathway to life.  Enable us to see things from your perspective and be willing to help where ever is needed.  Renew our minds, Lord that we may say with enthusiasm “here I am Lord, use me.”  In Jesus’ name we pray. Amen.

 

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity helping you grow in knowledge and understanding of God’s Word.

Ready to start leading small groups? Find out how easy it is with How to Get Started Leading Small Groups PDF ebook for $3.95 at
http://thinkonitbibledevotions.com/HowtoGetStartedLeadingSmallGroups.aspx


2 responses to “Here I am Lord, Use Me

  1. NCW says:

    I think I needed to read your post. I’ve recently surrendered my feelings of fear and inadequacy as it relates to being used by God. I agree, as you grow in your walk with Christ your perspective changes. I believe God has been pointing me in a particular direction for some time but I’ve always had an excuse. I’m at a place now where I am completely dependent on God’s eyes because I can’t “see” a thing. He’s been providing every step of the way and that just shows me that He will also provide whatever I need – even if it’s courage – to carry out the responsibilities of this call. Thanks for sharing and reminding that God is absolutely good and that it is indeed a privilege to work for Him.

    • NCW – we all struggle with fear or inadequacy at times. God is so good to us. Even when we can’t see what’s going on, He knows. He does provide. The best place to be is in His will. Thanks for stopping by. May you be encouraged every time you do!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

