Bible Devotions

Where Do You Turn?

on June 30, 2011

Ever notice how pain, either your own or someone else’s, draws us closer to God. Maybe it doesn’t for you.  But remember that everything allowed in your life is for a purpose.  God will use it to sharpen your godly character, draw you into a deeper relationship and demonstrate His mighty power. 

 

 

I had the opportunity to turn to God through pain on a ski trip at Mammoth Mountain.  My eldest son, who is prone to migraine headaches due to excess physical exercise, came down with a “killer” one after snowboarding on the first day of our trip.  He was in so much pain and mom couldn’t do anything.  We tried his usual migraine medication but no relief came, it only grew worse.  We tried the cold wash cloth on the back of the neck, but that only made him feel more nauseous.  I even called our family doctor to ask for other suggestions. 

 

 

However, relief came only after I began to pray for his healing.  Why didn’t I think of that first?  God, our great physician, stands ready to heal at a moments notice.   I was concerned about how the effects of the altitude may be causing his migraine to be worse than usual.  My focus was on the cause of the problem, rather than the solution.  How many times do we do that? 

 

 

Luke 5:31NKJV “Jesus answered and said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick.”  Jesus came to my son’s rescue and healed him that day, just as He has done in the past.   

 

How many times do we need reminding our God is faithful and will be there for us?  Matthew 8:13NKJV “Then Jesus said to the centurion, “Go your way; and as you have believed, so let it be done for you.” And his servant was healed that same hour.”  Our belief is the key to answered prayer. 

 

Do you allow pain to turn you to God?  Or are you still focused on the reason you’re in pain?  Get your eyes on the One who can and will heal you. 

 

 

Lord thank you for your faithfulness to heal us when we need you.  Help us to turn to you first and enable us to be faithful as you are. In Jesus’ name Amen.  

 

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity helping you grow in knowledge and understanding of God’s Word.


4 responses to “Where Do You Turn?

  1. Pain, loss, hard times, all of these bring us closer to God. It is one of the reasons I worry about the western church with all its wealth, excess, and privilege.

  2. I always view pain and suffering as the Greeks once viewed it in Golden times: as the unfavourable means to favourable ends. And to echo what totaltransformation has said brings human beings closer to freedom. Rather like when battle fields have ran dry of blood and their springs a million poppies in its place.

  3. yes I do too pray when there is pain, but we shouldnt stop there. We should pray always and never take our eyes of God. Thats why I pray all the time. Even now. I try not to do anything without Him. It sound corny, eh…but I am hooked on Jesus!
    Andrea

  4. I can relate to your son. I also suffer from migrane headaches.
    It is especially tough as I am working my way through doctorate school, raising my family, and working 50 hours a week in an effort to make ends meet financially. Those migranes always pop up at the worst time. Most of the time prayer and rest works when given time, but my schedule sometimes forces me to take my perscription. That works also, but it is expensive!

Leave a Reply

