Bible Devotions

Be Refreshed

on July 18, 2011

I thank my God, making mention of you always in my prayers, 5 hearing of your love and faith which you have toward the Lord Jesus and toward all the saints, 6 that the sharing of your faith may become effective by the acknowledgment of every good thing which is in you in Christ Jesus. 7 For we have great joy and consolation in your love, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed by you, brother. Philemon 1:4-7 NKJV 

Today’s verse is so invigorating to me, like stepping into a nice warm bubble bath and letting all the cares of the world melt away in the bubbles. Once I’ve had a good soak in God’s Word, I feel like I can tackle any problem that comes my way.  I am renewed, recharged and equipped for life.  Imagine if these verses were written specifically to you.  How might you respond?   God’s Word is such a comfort to me and my hope is that you may find it so too.  

In the opening verse, Paul mentions how he thanks God and mentions Philemon in his prayers.  I don’t know about you, but something twinkles inside me, when I know others are thanking God and praying for me.  What an honor that someone would spend time with God praying on my behalf.   Paul goes on about how he has heard about Philemon’s love and faith.  Have you heard of other’s love and faith?  Usually to hear about something, means someone has to talk about it.  If you haven’t heard of other’s love and faith, then perhaps it’s time to start talking about the love and faith you see around you.   

Verse 6 says “that the sharing of your faith may become effective…”  Isn’t that what we’re supposed to do, share our faith?  I heard/read a devotion recently that talked about the transformation that takes place when you become a Christian and how that same transformation causes us to speak out about our faith, to share it with others because it is really good news.  If it’s really such great news, why are we not telling everyone we know?  

Because of the desire God gave me to encourage others with His Word the last verse is precious to me: “because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed by you, brother.”  It is my sincerest prayer that through these devotions, you may be refreshed too.  

Lord, thank You for Your Word that refreshed and renews our thinking.  Thank You for being available to us through prayer.  Give us a desire to please You by reading Your Word daily.  Enable us to live out what we learn from Your Word.  In Jesus name.  Amen. 

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity


Leave a Reply

