Bible Devotions

Devine Influence Upon the Heart

on August 2, 2011

Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers. Ephesians 4:29 NKJV

Before we discuss what we learn from this verse, let’s look at the meaning of a few of the words using a Strong’s Concordance and Bible Dictionary.

Corrupt G4550 Sapros meaning rotten, worthless (literally or morally) bad, corrupt.

Good G18 agathos “good” (in any sense often as a noun) benefit, good, goods, good things, well, intrinsic.

Edification G3619 oikodome architecture (concretely) a structure; figuratively confirmation, building, edify, edification, edifying.  Also from G3624 meaning dwelling home household and G1430 meaning doma, roof, and housetop.

Grace G5485 charis meaning graciousness (as gratifying) of manner or act (abstract or concrete), literal, figurative, spiritual, especially the devine influence upon the heart, and its reflection in the life including gratitude, acceptable, benefit, favour, gift, grace, gracious, joy, liberality, pleasure, thank, thanks, thankworthy.

Now this begin with some questions.

What truth is conveyed in this verse?

I see God uses words to influence our hearts, words should be used to build others up, and gratitude with joy help convey God’s grace to others.

What sin needs to be confessed?

For me I must confess the times when I have used words to hurt, belittle, criticize, to tear down, or to curse another human being.

What steps can I take to become more like Jesus?

1. Think about my words before I say them. Ask self if the words conform to the following:

T = Is it truthful and promote thanks?

H = Is it helpful?

I = Does is influence towards God?

N = Is is needed and nice?

K = Is it kind?

2. I will remember my words can be harmful or helpful.

3. I choose to allow God to influence my heart and my words.

What will these steps look like to others?

I will speak only words that are helpful, including gratefulness, acceptance, joyful, and beneficial to building others up.  This means more pleasant speech on my part.

When I am tempted to complain or grumble about someone, I will stop to remember my words have an impact.  I will choose to build up and not tear down.  This means less complaining and more thanksgiving.

How about you?  What did you find in God’s precious verse above?

Dear Jesus, teach me to impart grace to the hearer through the words of my mouth.  Lead me to speak only what will build up the hearer. Guard my mouth and instruct it to flow grace-filled, edifying words to build others up in the family of God. In your precious name, Amen.

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity helping you grow in knowledge and understanding of God’s Word.

Devotions on the go. Walk Through Ephesians with this collection of devtions in PDf format at:
http://thinkonitbibledevotions.com/WalkThroughEphesians.aspx


Leave a Reply

