Bible Devotions

To Know and Believe God

on August 23, 2011

Isaiah 43:10 NKJVYou are My witnesses,” says the LORD, “and My servant whom I have chosen, that you may know and believe Me, and understand that I am He.”

 

How do you get to know and believe God?  For me it’s an on-going process.  First, I had to give my life to Christ and ask Him to live in me.  Next, I started to read His Word and through the Holy Spirit in me, I began to understand more about God’s character.  Then, I started to rely on Him, by praying and giving Him the final outcome of situations in my life.  Over time, I trusted Him more and more. 

 

The first step in the process is recognizing I am not god.  I am not in control, but rather out of control being bound by sin.  I had to go to great depths of despair before I would turn to God.  My life was falling apart due to self-inflicted sin consequences.  It’s different for every person.  My heart’s longing is for you to come to know and believe God without going to the pit of hell on earth before you turn to Him. 

The second step is to get into God’s Word, which is a storehouse of proof.  It describes God’s character, His morals and His values and His promises to us.  Look at what 1 John 5:13 NKJV says, “These things I have written to you who believe in the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternal life, and that you may continue to believe in the name of the Son of God.”  The more you read, the more you’ll understand God’s character.   

The third step is all about trust.  Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen according to Hebrews 11:1 NKJV.  It is by faith that we understand the things of God.  Faith is about trusting God.  Faith is built one step at a time.  My faith was strengthened through answered prayer.  When I was a new believer, God was especially kind and tender with me.  He gracious answered all of my prayers.  I have notebook after notebook filled with my prayers and how He answered them.  My small group, at the time, could hardly believe the instant response I seemed to get when I prayed.  But that’s what it took for me.   

What about you?  Having you started the journey of knowing and believing God?  If not, what’s holding you back?   

Our God is a very personal God, who wants to meet you right where you are.  He knows what you need before you even ask.  He’s anxious to come into your life and show you a different way to live.  He longs to bless you and give you an eternal life through Christ.   He’s just a prayer away:   

Lord Jesus, thank you for dying for my sins.  I know I’m a sinner and need you to save me.  Please come into my life and lead me into the abundant fulfilling life you promise in your Word.  In Jesus’ name Amen.  

Maybe you’ve already given your life to Christ.  That’s wonderful, but don’t stop there.  Dig into God’s Word, deepen your relationship.  Continue to pray and see the hand of God working in your life.  Don’t forget to share what you know about God with others.  There are people dying to know Him. 

Father God above, You alone are King.  Thank you for putting me on the path of life.  Guide us by Your Spirit, teach us Your ways that we may know and believe You more.  In Jesus’ name Amen.  

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity helping you grow in knowledge and understanding of God’s Word.


2 responses to “To Know and Believe God

  1. Hi, if anyone really wants to know how to trust God, and know that He wa, is and always will be…go to http://Katysblog.com.
    Katy is a friend of mine from Church. She has HPS and goes right now and for the passed 8 months through a very difficult time. The faith this young lady and her family have is incredible, and a masterpiece of the Lord to show us all how true Faith looks like. Check her out!

    Blessings
    Andrea

Leave a Reply

