Bible Devotions

Think Your Good, Don’t You?

on September 12, 2011

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; Who can know it?” Jeremiah 17:9 NKJV 

What do you do with a verse like this?  All your life you think you’re a good person.  After all you haven’t murdered, stolen or committed adultery with anyone, right?  Maybe your parents taught you to be a “good” person.  While that’s a good thing, it isn’t going to save you in the end according to God’s Word. 

 

The Bible tells us we can not trust our own hearts, according to Isaiah 44:20 NKJV “…A deceived heart has turned him aside; And he cannot deliver his soul…”.  Our hearts lie to us.   

I thought I was good until God humbled me by showing me just how deceitful I could be.  Who knew I could be so sinful?  God knew and He lovingly showed me my sin so I would turn to Him for forgiveness. 

 

Even if we’ve believed the lies of our heart, God can still rescue us.  Consider His Word and allow Him to change the way you think (Romans 12:2).  Look at what God says in Ezekiel 11:19 NKJV “Then I will give them one heart, and I will put a new spirit within them, and take the stony heart out of their flesh, and give them a heart of flesh”.   

You’ll never regret trusting the Lord.  When you do, He’s give you a new heart, one that beats for Him.  He did for me!  He’s waiting to give you a new heart, too!

 

Lord thank you for revealing my sin, forgiving me and giving me a new heart that beats for you.  Enable us to trust you and cast out the lies we’ve stored in our hearts.  Thank you for your love and mercy.  In Jesus’ name Amen.  

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity helping you grow in knowledge and understanding of God’s Word.  Visit us at http://www.ThinkOnIt.org today.

Ever wonder what a Quiet Time with the Lord is? Find out with this PDF ebook at
http://thinkonitbibledevotions.com/HowtoStartaQuietTime.aspx


Leave a Reply

