Bible Devotions

Truth Sets Us Free

on October 7, 2011

Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, “If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.” John 8:31-32 NKJV 

Have you ever rushed to a conclusion only to find out later you were completely wrong in what you assumed?  This has happened to me a few times.  Funny how we “jump to conclusions” without having all the facts.    

When we choose to believe a half-truth or a flat-out lie, we unknowingly are entering into bondage to that belief. The crazy thing is when we believe a lie we think it is a truth.  Only when Jesus starts revealing His truth we realize we believed a lie in first.  Look at what Jesus said: “you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free”.  That’s wonderful!   

There have been times I believed a certain thing about my husband.  Maybe I thought he was angry about something.   But then he shares with me what’s going on in his mind and I find it has nothing to do with anger.  It was only after he shared with me that I discovered the truth.  So it is with God’s Word.   

How about you?  Are you reading God’s Word, the living truth?  If not, why?   

Lord, thank you for revealing yourself to us as we seek to know your truth.  Open our eyes and heart to understand where we have been in bondage to lies.  Enable us to reject the lies and replace them with your glorious truth.  In Jesus’ name Amen. 

 

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity

Interested in knowing more about ThinkOnIt Ministries?
Sign up for our monthly newsletter at
http://thinkonit.org



One response to “Truth Sets Us Free

  1. Yes, I have been very guilty of thinking I knew something but turned out I was wrong! I have had to eat lots of humble pie! I’m trying to think, “Hang on, you may not be right on this.” I’m getting better – by God’s grace.

Leave a Reply

