Bible Devotions

Though you have not known Me

on November 14, 2011

“I am the LORD, and there is no other; There is no God besides Me. I will gird you, though you have not known Me,” Isaiah 45:5 NKJV 

I am amazed at God’s grace and mercy.  After becoming a believer and disciple of Jesus Christ more than a decade ago, God has been revealing the ways He kept me safe during the time in my life I had not known Him. Surely He is God and there are none like Him.   

Looking back on my life, I can see the course He set me on.  Even though I did not know Him, He was, in fact, guarding my life.  For example, to ensure I didn’t just drift into a minimum wage job after high school, a trade school recruiter convinced me to register for classes leading to a Theory of Electronics Associates Degree.  I thought given my previous rejection in modeling business, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to show the world I was not just a pretty face!  However, God had plans to use this path to deal with the growing perfectionism in me and to provide for my future family.  Now, I can see He brought this opportunity into my life for a reason.  His hand was engaged arranging all the situations and circumstances that would eventually lead me to my salvation.   

I have experienced what Romans 8:28 says “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.”  The bad stuff of the past was used for good because it directed me to Him.  Be encouraged, no matter what comes into your life, He’ll use it for His glory and bring good from it.   

How about you?  In what ways has God’s hand been in your life before you knew Him?  As you become more aware, praise God, for He is good.  

Lord, thank you that even when we didn’t know you, there you were arranging things that would lead to our salvation.  Thank you for coming after us with your love, grace and mercy.  In Jesus’ name Amen.  

 

© ThinkOnIt Bible Ministries Inc is a 501(c) (3) Public Charity helping you grow in knowledge and understanding of God’s Word.

 

Are you on Facebook? Join our Fan Page
http://www.facebook.com/ThinkOnItBible

Learn to do relationships God’s way – Ephesians Bible Study
http://www.facebook.com/groups/RichesOfHisGrace



2 responses to “Though you have not known Me

  1. genegoh says:

    Another great testimony. Thanks for sharing. =)

    PS: Thank you as well, for quoting the ENTIRE Romans 8:28. I’m sick of people who just quote the first half of it, leaving out the other half, so that they can use the Bible in their ‘sugar-coated’ messages.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks, Genegoh. I agree we need the whole counsel of God’s Word, not just the parts that are easy to take in! May God continue His good work in you as you seek Him with all your heart, mind, body, soul, and strength! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

